Paris Time Event

First Meeting of IEA's Clean Energy Labour Council

Background information

IEA's new Clean Energy Labour Council will meet to discuss how to enhance global dialogue on the labour aspects of designing people-centred and inclusive energy transitions.

Convened by the IEA Executive Director Fatih Birol, the Clean Energy Labour Council will provide a forum to foster dialogue between the IEA, its stakeholders and the labour sector, a key and central voice in just transitions.

As part of the IEA’s increased focus on the people-centred dimension of our clean energy future, this Council builds off the work of the Global Commission on People-Centred Clean Energy Transitions, an independent panel of 30 members who worked together to produce a series of actionable recommendations that drew on recent experiences and best practices from around the world.

The first Meeting will be publicly livestreamed on Wednesday, 9 March 2022 from 14:00 to 15:45 (CET) and will mark an opportunity for all members to introduce their perspective on the key labour issues affecting clean energy transitions.


  • Ms. Sharan Burrow (Co-Chair), General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)
  • Mr. Bheki Ntshalintshali (Co-Chair), General Secretary, Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU)
  • Ms. Rhoda Boateng, Programme Coordinator, ITUC Africa​
  • Ms. Bea Bruske, President, Canadian Labour Congress (CLC)
  • Mr. Chandra Bhushan, President, International Forum for Environment, Sustainability and Technology, India
  • Mr. Plamen Dimitrov, President, Bulgarian Confederation of Independent Trade Unions (CITUB)
  • Ms. Peggy Hessen Følsvik, First Deputy Leader, Norwegian Confederation of Trade Unions (LO Norway)
  • Ms. Carmen Foro, General Secretary, Unified Workers' Central (CUT Brazil)
  • Mr. Brad Markell, Executive Director, AFL-CIO Industrial Union Council
  • Mr. Frederik Moch, Head of Department for Structural Policy, Industry and Service, Federal Executive Board of the German Trade Union Confederation (DGB)
  • Ms. Lebogang Mulaisi (COSATU Sherpa), Labour Market Policy Coordinator, COSATU 
  • Ms. Muriel Penicaud, Ambassador at the Permanent Representative of France to the OECD, Former Minister of Labour, France
  • Ms. Elly Rosita Silaban, President, Confederation of All Indonesian Trade Unions (KSBSI)
  • Ms. Samantha Smith (ITUC Sherpa), Director, Just Transition Centre, ITUC
  • Ms. Laurence Tubiana, CEO, European Climate Foundation
  • Mr. Ayuba Wabba, President, ITUC and President, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC)
  • Mr. Shoya Yoshida, General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation - Asia Pacific (ITUC-AP)