Paris Time Event — Paris, France

IEA-ECB-EIB Conference on Ensuring an Orderly Energy Transition

Europe’s competitiveness and financial stability in a period of global energy transformation

On 29 September 2023, European Central Bank President Christine Lagarde, European Investment Bank President Werner Hoyer, and International Energy Agency Executive Director Fatih Birol will host a high-level conference at the IEA's headquarters in Paris on how to ensure an orderly energy transition that supports Europe’s competitiveness and safeguards financial stability. 

The conference will address the impacts of the global energy crisis on the clean energy transition in Europe. Delegates will tackle a range of issues including mobilising private sector capital to accelerate new investments and positioning Europe in a highly competitive global landscape for clean technology manufacturing. The role of central banks and supervisory authorities in managing risk related to the transition will also be high on the agenda. 

Our joint background document provides more information on the topics that will be discussed at the conference.

The conference will convene a high-level audience consisting of ministers, business leaders, central bankers and representatives from international financial institutions, and academia. The event is by invitation only.

Media enquiries can be directed to:

For all other enquires, please contact:


High-level participants at the conference include:

Mario Draghi, Former Prime Minister of Italy and Former President of the European Central Bank

Tinne Van der Straeten, Minister of Energy, Belgium

Jozef Síkela, Minister of Industry and Trade, Czech Republic

Alexandra Sdoukou, Deputy Minister of Environment and Energy, Greece

Attila Steiner, State Secretary for Development of Circular Economy, Energy and Climate Policy, Hungary

Eamon Ryan, Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, Ireland

Dainius Kreivys, Minister of Energy, Lithuania

Anna Moskwa, Minister of Climate and Environment, Poland

Daniel Liljeberg, State Secretary to Minister for Energy, Business and Industry, Sweden

Alparslan Bayraktar, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Türkiye

Kadri Simson, European Commissioner for Energy, European Commission

Gerhard Jandl, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Austria

Martin Bille Hermann, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Denmark

Priit Pallum, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Estonia

Pasi-Heikki Vaaranmaa, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Finland

Amélie de Montchalin, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, France

Michaela Spaeth, Ambassador of Germany to the OECD, Germany

Luca Sabbatucci, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Italy

Indulis Abelis, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Latvia

Corina Călugăru, Ambassador to France, Moldova

Adrian Vierita, Ambassador to the OECD, Romania

Giancarlo Kessler, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Switzerland

Jochem Wiers, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, The Netherlands

Ditte Juul Jørgensen, Director-General DG Energy, European Commission

Emmanuel Moulin, Director General of the French Treasury, France

Roman Murgaš, Senior Advisor to Ministry of Economy, Slovak Republic

Nelson Lage, Chairman of the Board of Directors, ADENE

Benoît Potier, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Air Liquide

Jean-Jacques Barbéris, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Amundi AM

Andrea Sironi, Chair of the Board of Directors of Assicurazioni Generali and Chair of Bocconi University

José M. Linares, Senior Executive Vice President and Global head of Santander Corporate & Investment Banking, Banco Santander

Beata Daszyńska-Muzyczka, President of the Management Board, Bank Gospodarstwa Krajowego

François Villeroy de Galhau, Governor, Banque de France

Albert Cheung, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, BloombergNEF

Daniel Gros, Director of the Institute for European Policymaking, Bocconi University

Ann Mettler, Vice-President Europa, Breakthrough Energy

Luca D’Agnese, Policy, Evaluation and Advisory Director, Cassa depositi e prestiti

Anabella Rosemberg, Senior Advisor on Just Transition, Climate Action Network

Annegret Groebel, President, Council of European Energy Regulators

Per Callesen, Governor, Danmarks Nationalbank

Nick Mabey, Founding Director and Chief Executive Officer, E3G

Paolo Scaroni, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Enel

Catherine MacGregor, Chief Executive Officer, ENGIE

José Manuel Campa, Chairperson, European Banking Authority

Irene Heemskerk, Head of Climate Change Centre, European Central Bank

Laurence Tubiana, Chief Executive Officer, European Climate Foundation

Ambroise Fayolle, Vice President, European Investment Bank

Jean-Christophe Laloux, Director General and Head of Operations, European Investment Bank

Thomas Östros, Vice President, European Investment Bank

Nellie Simon, Vice President, European Patent Office

António Campinos, President, European Patent Office

Beatrice Weder di Mauro, Professor at Geneva Graduate Institute & President of CEPR

Harmeet Bawa, Group Senior Vice President, Hitachi Energy

Jorgo Chatzimarkakis, Secretary General, Hydrogen Europe

Jose Sainz Armada, Chief Financial Officer, Iberdrola

Stephanie Pfeifer, Chief Executive Officer, IIGCC

Tim Gould, Chief Energy Economist, International Energy Agency

Thierry Déau, Chief Executive Officer, Meridiam

Yiannis Kalafatas, Chief Executive Director, Mytilineos

Carmine Di Noia, Director for Financial and Enterprise Affairs, OECD

Ulrik Stridbæk, Vice President and Head of Regulatory Affairs, Ørsted

Vincent Thouvenin, Executive Secretary General for European Affairs, RTE Réseau de Transport d'Electricité

Wanda Buk, Vice President for Regulatory Affairs and Member of the Management Board, PGE Polska Grupa Energetyczna

László Varró, Vice President Global Business Environment and Head of Scenarios, Shell

Pierre Palmieri, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Sociéte Générale

Hilde Tonne, Chief Executive Officer, Statnett

Dalia Marin, Professor of International Economics, Technical University of Munich

Helle Kristoffersen, President Strategy & Sustainability, TotalEnergies

Pietro Carlo Padoan, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Unicredit Group

Natalia Fabra, Professor of Economics, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid

Henrik Andersen, Group President and Chief Executive Officer, Vestas