Executive Director presented with European Award 2022 for IEA response to energy crisis

Ed Slovak Pm 2

Annual award recognises unwavering dedication to strengthening Europe and promoting growth and progress, citing IEA’s efforts to mitigate the impacts of the current global energy crisis

IEA Executive Director Fatih Birol today received the prestigious GLOBSEC European Award for his and the Agency’s work to support Europe this year during the global energy crisis triggered by Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

The European Award is presented each year by GLOBSEC, a global think tank based in Bratislava, the Slovak capital, to honour unwavering dedication to strengthening Europe and promoting growth and progress. GLOBSEC said Dr Birol had been chosen this year because from the beginning of Russia’s invasion, the IEA under his leadership has been a key player in efforts to mitigate the world’s “first truly global energy crisis”.

Slovak Prime Minister Eduard Heger presented the award to Dr Birol at GLOBSEC’s Tatra Summit in Slovakia in the presence of Ministers from Central and Eastern European countries.

Birol Globsec Award 2
Birol Globsec Award 1

In particular, the award recognised the IEA’s work under Dr Birol drawing attention to Russia’s strategic behaviour in tightening energy markets well before the invasion of Ukraine; being a key voice in the dispelling of myths about the global energy crisis; providing vital analysis and advice to EU member governments and beyond; and promoting the strengthening of investments in clean energy and energy efficiency to mitigate the impact of Russia’s invasion.

Receiving the award, Dr Birol described it as “an honour for me and for the International Energy Agency”, adding that it is “especially important to me as it comes at such a challenging time for Europe – and particularly for countries in Central and Eastern Europe.”

Previous notable recipients of the award include Donald Tusk, the former Prime Minister of Poland and President of the European Council; Bruno Le Maire, the Minister of Economy and Finance of France; and Wolfgang Schäuble, the former Finance Minister of Germany and President of the Bundestag.