Management Structure of the National Energy Efficiency Action Plan (NEEAP)

Last updated: 14 September 2020
The Decree-Law N º 50/2010 of 20 May 2010 created the Energy Efficiency Fund (EEF) that aims to fund programs and activities that support the measures contained in the National Energy Efficiency Action Plan (NEEAP). This decree-law established the creation of a management structure, already foreseen in the NEEAP, to support and promote the implementation of their programs and measures, including the management of the technical aspects of EEF. Subsequently, Ordinance N º 1316/2010 of 28 December was published. It regulates and sets the Management Structure of the NEEAP and aims to identify its organs and their competencies, the entities involved, allocation of responsibilities in the management and implementation measures, procedures for monitoring of results and procedures for the introduction of new programs and measures. The regulation specifies that NEEAP is structured into four sectors (transport, residential and services, industry and State) and three cross-cutting areas (behaviors, taxation incentives and financing) which in turn are divided into programs and measures, as described in the Resolution of the Council of Ministers N º. 80/2008 of 20 May 2008.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more (Portuguese)