Sign In

Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free

Global Methane Pledge

Last updated: 2 December 2022

Led by the European Union and the United States, the Global Methane Pledge was announced at COP 26 in November 2021. About 150 countries have joined the pledge, committing to work together to collectively reduce global anthropogenic methane emissions by at least 30 percent below 2020 levels by 2030.  The participants further commit to take comprehensive domestic actions to achieve that target and to move towards the highest-tier IPCC good practice inventory methodologies to quantify methane emissions.

The following countries are currently endorsing the Pledge:
Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Cook Islands, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cote D’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, European Union, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco , Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts & Nevis, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn moreLearn more