Strategic Minerals List

Last updated: 3 November 2022

On 18 June 2020, the Nigerian Minister of Mines and Steel Development announced the designation of seven strategic minerals for the country in a forum organised by the Nigerian Economic Summit Group. The seven strategic minerals are coal, iron ore, bitumen, gold, limestone, lead-zinc and barite. 

Alongside the seven named minerals, the ministry also indicated interest in other critical minerals for the future, including "titanium, tungsten, lithium and cobalt, which have various applications in futuristic industries such as aerospace, telecoms and electric vehicle manufacturing." The intent of the designation was to stimulate resource-based industrialisation and unlock potential in the mining sector to diversify the economy, create jobs and increase government revenue.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more