Participation in Baltic Energy Efficiency Group (BEEG)

Last updated: 8 April 2019
Norway participated in the Baltic Energy Efficiency Group (BEEG), one of four working groups established by the Energy Ministers of the Baltic Sea at their Stavanger Ministerial on 2 December 1998. Mandated to assess energy efficiency options and potentials, the BEEG focused on combined heat and power (CHP) and district heating (DH). The BEEG assessment included technologies, financing and legislation. The Groups action programme included: - A CHP strategy. - A facility for financing small-scale energy efficiency projects, CHP and renewables. - A Market Transformation Programme. - A flexible framework for improving the efficiency of collaborative projects and actions by the creation of an Energy Efficiency Development Forum (EEDF). - A "Baltic Sea Region Energy Efficiency Week" to be organised every year. BEEG participants included the governments of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia and Sweden. The European Commission was represented by DG TREN, the Directorate General for Transport and Energy. The work of BEEG ended in 2005.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more