Global Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency - logo

The Global Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency was established on 24 June 2019 at the IEA’s 4th annual Global Conference on Energy Efficiency in Dublin, Ireland. The Commission currently has 23 members and is composed of national leaders, current and former ministers, top business executives and global thought leaders.

With analytical support from the IEA, Global Commission members have examined how progress on energy efficiency can be rapidly accelerated through new and stronger policy action by governments across the globe. It has developed this series of actionable recommendations to support governments in achieving more ambitious action on energy efficiency.

The Commission's work comes at a critical moment in clean energy transitions around the world. Despite energy efficiency's tremendous potential, the world is struggling to capture its full benefits. Global energy demand continues to increase and COemissions are at record levels. Meanwhile, energy intensity – the energy required to produce one unit of global gross domestic product (GDP) – is not improving quickly enough to offset strong energy demand and COemissions growth. In light of these worrying trends, there is a growing recognition by governments and leaders across the globe that efficiency efforts need to be stepped up.

Commission Members

Honorary Chair

Leo Varadkar

Prime Minister, Ireland

Leo Varadkar Thumbnail