Paris Time Event — Warsaw, Poland

Signing ceremony of IEA-Ukraine Joint Association Agreement

Background information

Ukraine will become an Association country of the International Energy Agency during a signing ceremony in Warsaw, Poland on Tuesday, 19 July, 2022 at 13:45 CEST. The IEA-Ukraine Joint Association Agreement will be signed by German Galushchenko, Ukraine’s Minister of Energy, and Fatih Birol, IEA Executive Director, in the presence of Mateusz Morawiecki, Prime Minister of Poland, and Anna Moskwa, Poland’s Minister of Climate and Environment. The ceremony will be followed by a press conference.

The IEA’s Association framework allows the IEA to work closely and deepen cooperation with its partner countries, sharing analysis, data and best practices. The framework was established in 2015. Since then, 10 countries have joined the IEA’s Association programme: Argentina, Brazil, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Morocco, Singapore, South Africa and Thailand. Ukraine will be the 11th.